Croissant Poem

Croissant
By Tony Robles

This somewhat
Well-dressed guy
Came into the donut
Shop this morning

He asked for a croissant
And the Chinese guy
Behind the counter picked
Up a croissant with his tongs

The man then said, I don’t
Want a plain croissant,
I want a chocolate
Croissant

The way the man pronounced
The word croissant was
Annoying, as if he were in
His first semester of French
In community college

No chocolate croissant,
Said the Chinese
Guy

What about an almond
Croissant, don’t you
Have almond croissants
The man asked

I sat with
My coffee
Thinking

What about a
Foot in your
Ass croissant?

But I just
Kept it
To myself

© 2009 Tony Robles

Leave a Reply

