Pushcart Prize

I just learned that my short story, “In My Country”, has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize by Mythium Lit Mag (www.mythiumlitmag.com). I received notification of this by Mythium’s editor Crystal Wilkinson. The official winners are to be announced in May of this year.

I am very surprised by this and am grateful for the nomination.

I must say however, that no story i could ever write could say as much or satisfy the spirit like a plate of food at my aunt Theresa’s house. The adobo, gumbo, pancit and ginger soup she makes says more about the heart of our family and our community than any story could capture. Her poems fill the belly and the mind much more than the stories i put down on paper.

That’s the truth

2 Replies to “Pushcart Prize”

  1. How fantastic! Congrats. What a great way to start the new year with nominations, food, and most important, family.

Leave a Reply

