Hayden and Magdangal

These two Frisco boys

Came to my

Office one day

 

I was an employment

Counselor at an

Organization that claimed

It swore off any allegiance

To money

 

And the two Frisco

Boy’s names were Hayden

And Mc Daniel

(Which sounded like a

Pair of cops)

                                     

They were no longer boys

But they were still in Frisco

And Hayden was trying

To help McDaniel

Find a job

 

McDaniel had been

A painter by trade but

Had fallen 3 stories,

Landing on his back

 

Hayden had seen hard

Times, all his teeth

Were gone but the aching

Urge to smile was carved

Into his face

 

McDaniel wanted to

Be a security guard

Saying, “Security guards

Don’t fall out of a third

Story window” so I told him

I’d help with his resume

 

McDaniel was Filipino

With a thick Filipino

Face and with his thick

Filipino lips said

 

My name is Magdangal

But everybody kept

Getting my name wrong,

They kept calling me McDaniel

So I keep it

 

He sat with his

Back straight wearing

A badge of two

Names

 

And I worked on

His resume starting

With his name:

 

Magdangal

 

 

© 2014 Tony Robles

Leave a Reply

