Shine On

Brother Paul,

Was that you I saw

Wearing a baseball cap

Shielding your eyes,

Leaning against a pole

With a sign that said

No parking day or night?

 

I was walking across the

Street and matching me

Stride for stride was a woman

Who was quite attractive

 

The sun was out after

Hiding for several

Weeks

 

The woman pulled ahead

Of me slightly and I thought

About not going back to

Work

 

That’s when i

Saw you

 

You usually say

Hi to me, always treating

Me like a long lost brother

 

But today your eyes

Didn’t see me

When I waved at you

 

I waved at you

Up and down and

Side to side like I was

Trying to flag down a

Motherfucking cab

 

Your eyes followed

That woman

Like I wasn’t

There

 

(and I wasn’t)

 

But I know

You saw

Me

 

You motherfucker

You

 

 

© 2014 Tony Robles

Leave a Reply

