I’m so Proud

City of St. Francis

I’m so proud

Of being

Loved by you

 

And don’t worry,

I don’t hold that

Eviction against you

 

But it did come

As a surprise,

All wrapped in a

Gauze colored envelope

 

Just the way

It goes, I guess

 

I’d lived there

45 years, grew up

There, mom’s died

There, at home,

Where she belonged

 

I got 60 days

To vacate

 

I’m so proud

Of being loved

By you

 

And Mr. Fare inspector,

I don’t got no ill feeling

Towards you for looking me

Up and down as through I

Were defective while you

Scrawled my life story on

That ticket you wrote me,

Legible only to a doctor or

Pharmacist

 

I’m so proud

Of being

Loved by you

 

And Mr. Officer

I’m not angry that you took

My tent and confiscated all

My worldly belongings and

Wrote me a ticket whose intent

Was to carry out some such law

 

But my tent had the intent

Of keeping me warm and dry

From the elements and what

Was your intention again?  Can

It be logged in the book of good

Intent basking over the bent

Portion of the rainbow

 

I’m so proud

Of being

Loved by you

 

And I don’t hold it against

You that I, being infused

With both the rhythm and

The blues, see an absence of

Black where black should be,

Such as in the soul food

Restaurants where the black

Faces aren’t seen but where

Black music is played

 

Served up on a dish of out

Of proportion portions of

Satellite delight and, of course,

In the institutions of hidden

Learning

 

I don’t hold it

Against you, city of

St. Francis

 

I’m so proud

Of being

Loved by you

 

© 2016 Tony Robles

Leave a Reply

