A Name

Now, when the teachers

Said it, they had a tendency

To mispronounce it

 

It happened with such

Frequency that I began

To dislike the name that

Should have leapt from my

Tongue like a one-two combination

 

Robles

 

And the gym teacher said

ROB-LESS

 

And the homeroom teacher said

RUBBLES

 

And some others said

ROW-BLOWS

 

And the math teacher said

ROW-BOW

(Don’t ask me how he came up with that)

 

And I would correct

Them but it didn’t

Help

 

They just kept

On that way

 

And I sat at my

Desk with my name

Stuck inside my throat

 

And I’d walk

Home and from time

To time I’d see a guy drive

By in a large car that looked

To be a Buick or Cadillac

 

And he would look at

Me and I would look back

 

Our eyes holding some

Kind of recognition that

I couldn’t recognize in a

Sort of silent stand off

 

And I continued going

To school and the mispronunciation

Of my name bothered me less

 

And I walked home

One day and saw the guy

In the car again

 

He came to a stop,

Rolled down the

Window and called out:

 

“Hey, is your name Robles?”

 

He said my name

The way it was supposed

To be said

 

“Yeah”

 

I thought so, he said, I

Used to go to school

With your uncles

 

He opened

The car door

 

I got

In

 

School was

In session

 

 

© 2015 Tony Robles

Leave a Reply

