Fist

It was a black

Power salute and

When I was a kid

I saw that fist everywhere

 

Sometimes the fist

Headed towards my face

But lucky for me I would

Duck in time or perhaps the

Guy throwing the punch couldn’t

Throw a punch worth a shit

 

I saw the fist on the

Ends of afro picks poking

Through brilliant afros as

I sat back waiting for my

Hair to grow

 

And a guy on the bus sits

Next to me and

Says, “Fist me”

 

And I think, this motherfucker

Must be crazy so I get up

And get off the bus

 

I look and the guy

Is following me for

One, two, three blocks

 

I stop and look at

Him and he says, again,

Fist me

 

“You’re gonna get a fist

Alright, when I bust

You across your mouth” I say

 

And the man

Meekly stuck out

His fist and somehow I

Formed a fist and both

Of our fists somehow

Bumped

 

The man half-smiled

Before walking

Away

 

And I walked off

Thinking, fisting sure

Ain’t what it used

To be

 

 

©2015 Tony Robles

 

 

Leave a Reply

