Poem for God (For my uncle)

My uncle,
the preacher man
says

it ain’t about
you, me or
the red sea

it ain’t about
the Oakland Raiders,
Dallas Cowboys, the
Kentucky colonel or
the Kentucky derby

it ain’t about Obama,
Bush, Clinton, Reagan,
Nixon, Abe Lincoln,
Washington, Franklin
or the king of rock n’ roll

it ain’t about
the golden gate
bridge or the space
station

it ain’t about the
golden horn, the golden
calf or the goose that
laid the golden egg

it ain’t about cable
or wireless or flat screens
flat soda, or flat beer

it ain’t about
red, black, brown,
white, yellow
or blue

it ain’t about
the blues, the greens
or the in-betweens

it ain’t about
radios, computers,
washing machines,
cell phones or wall
paper

it ain’t about,
condos, condoms,
condemnations or
con men

As my uncle says,
it ain’t about you,
me or the red sea

it ain’t about
none of that

and my uncle
looks at me
and says

it’s about
God, you
see

Leave a Reply

