Sweat (For Midtown Tenants)

This afternoon

I sweated black

 

Somehow the night

Formed beads

And collected in the

Folds of my skin and

Places where the sun

May yet shine

 

It collected in my

Body, sopped up by

Fingers, thumbs, in

An attempted to hide

 

It was sweat that refused

To be swift, sweat that

Took its sweet time

 

But I couldn’t hide

The blackness of my

Sweat, the sweat of

My blackness

 

The gleam and

Pearl like voices sprouting

Up like a field of black

Mushrooms over the shadow

Stretch of skin

 

Each bead ready

To pop

 

Today I sweated

Black

 

A symphony of

Black

 

Ready to

Roar

 

In the unfolding

Of my skin

 

 

© 2015 Tony Robles

Leave a Reply

