1975 is Alive

A penny sits

In my

Pocket

The year on it

Is hard to make

Out but it reads

1975

Lincoln’s haggard

Face a

Copper mugshot

I remember ‘75

Like yesterday

My uncles were the

Young sons of

Immigrants

Drinking wine

And singing songs

And dressing like

Stars

(they were)

in ‘75

my father

told me

don’t bullshit

a bullshitter

and other such

profound words

in ’75 my

uncles shook

my hand

real handshakes

that meant

something

their still

with

me

it was a

wonderful

time…’75

I keep

It in

My pocket

To

Myself

© 2006 Tony Robles

Leave a Reply

