Open Door Policy

Open Door Policy

By Tony Robles

 

I was on the city bus

 

I’ve spent my

Life on city

Buses

 

And the years pass

And the people pass

And some remain the same

 

And all of life’s

Situations and scenarios

Play themselves out in the

Seats, in the aisles and on

The poles

 

And after decades of

Being on buses, I’ve

Rarely met a person who

Was courteous

 

Somehow the bus

Is the living room of

Bad habits, the repository of

Petty trips and biases

 

And all the buses

I’ve taken have

Been in SF

 

And then….

 

I moved to

Oakland

 

And started

Taking the bus

 

And it seems that

All the ex San Franciscans

Were on the buses

 

Especially black

Folk

 

And I took a ride

On the bus and the

People were down home

 

Voices coming

From deep places,

Rivers

 

In spite of cell

Phones and tech

Gadgetry

 

And I got to my

Stop and slowly

Walked to the

Back door exit

 

And standing there

Was a black brother

A couple years younger

Than me

 

He held the door

Open as I

Stepped down

 

Thank you,

I said

 

It’s all good,

He replied

 

And in that

Moment

 

It

Was

 

 

© 2015 Tony Robles

Leave a Reply

