I want to write my city

I want to write my city
Write on the walls of my city
Write my city on the vault
Doors of my silence

Seal the envelope with the
Tongue of unsaid, unheard,
Unhealed words

I want to write my
City with the ink of my blood
The ash of my bones
The tears that have dried
Into an invisible song

I want to write my city
With street swept
Strokes on every corner,
Every alley, every crevice
And paved over dream

I want to write my city
The city that loves you and
Writes you off and loves you
again and writes you off over
and over again in the ledger
of losses

I want to write my city
In my black and Filipino blood
My Filipino and black blood
My adobo blood
My gumbo blood
My North Beach Blood
My Fillmore/Mission Street blood
My San Francisco blood

I want to write my city
A born and raised son of
San Francisco, written off,
Erased, deleted

I want to write my city
With the ink of my blood

It is time

©2015 Tony Robles

Leave a Reply

