Carabao Necklace

I’d never seen

A mound of

Carabao shit

 

I’d never

Had a carabao

Nickel

 

My eyes had

Never been

Crusted by

Carabao sleep

 

But the carabaos

And their spirits

Trudge along

6th Street

 

The smells of

Filipino lives rising

Like fog from breath

Commiserating in

Pots of rice

 

I bought a

Carabao necklace

That fit nicely around

The stump of my neck

 

And I sat as its horn

Shape hung at a curved

Angle

 

And appeared out of

The mist and fog,

Seemingly from the

Pages of a fashion

Magazine

 

She looked

At my carabao

Necklace

 

That’s cheap,

She said

 

You can get

That anywhere

In the Philippines

 

And that carabao

Necklace got heavy,

Like a brick

 

I could barely

Move my neck

 

And I looked

At her necklace

 

I thought it was

A carabao horn but my

Eyes were playing

A trick

 

It was actually

A $500 shoe

 

(an expensive trick)

 

And through carabao

Crusted eyes I finally

See that mound of

Carabao shit that had

Eluded me

 

 

© 2017 Tony Robles

Leave a Reply

