At the Movies

On Market Street there

Was a theater where you

Could see 4 or 5 movies

For a buck

 

They were the same

Movie you could catch in

The afternoons on the TV

During a program called

Dialing for dollars

 

And during intermission

There’d be a raffle

Of some kind

 

My father went to

That show when he

Was a kid

 

He’d say that with a

Quarter you could do

A lot of damage back

Then

 

You could see a movie,

Get a coke, popcorn,

Hot dogs, an ice cream

And juju fruits

 

I saw a few movies

With my father and I

Got popcorn, if I was

Lucky

 

He once told me,

Go get me some

Bomb bombs

 

I went to the counter

And asked for

Bomb bombs

 

The woman at the

Concession stand said,

We don’t have bomb

Bombs, we have “bon-

ons”)

 

I paid and brought

Them to my father

 

On the screen, the cowboys

Were shooting the Indians

As my father opened the

Bomb bombs

 

The woman said they were

Bon-bons, not bomb bombs

I said

 

My father looked at me

As the gunfire rang out

Across the movie screen

 

“I knew that” he said,

Gingerly placing a bon-bon

Into his awaiting mouth

 

We sat through the

Cowboy movie and the

Raffle and waited for

The war picture to begin

 

 

© 2017 Tony Robles

 

Leave a Reply

