Customs

What are
your customs?

How do your people
celebrate
mourn
sing
dance
worship
teach?

what do they
observe when the
sleep has collected
like cobwebs in
their eyes

it was a custom in
my family to knock on
the door of a friend or
relative with your
elbows when visiting

how do you
knock with your
elbows?

My father explained
that one knocks with
their elbows because
their arms are carrying
food

that’s about as
Filipino as he
got

and i walk
through customs
coming back from
Manila

what do i
bring back?

what do i
leave behind?

i make it through
customs

welcome back
home, the customs
agent says, to my
surprise

i proceed out of
the airport with my
pockets stuffed with
fish heads and Filipino
feelings

my feet head
towards Frisco

My eyes look for
a door to knock
on

with my
elbows

(c) 2017 Tony Robles

Leave a Reply

